Beans Paruppu Usili (lentil crumble)

Ever since my childhood, I used to bug my mom to prepare this paruppu usili for me every week. It’s a lentil crumble that may be prepared with vegetables like beans or banana flower or cluster beans or onion and so on. Even without the vegetable, this dish can be mixed with plain rice dotted with ghee. This dish tastes best with banana flower(vazhaipoo). Please refer to the following link on the procedure to cut the flower https://ssriranjini.wordpress.com/2008/02/14/vazhaipoo-vada/

The combination of paruppu usili, mor kuzhambu and Garlic pepper jeera rasam makes a tasty south Indian main course.

Beans Paruppu usili

Ingredients (For 2 members):

Toor dal – 1 cup

Channa dal – 1/4 cup

Beans, chopped – 1 1/2 cup

Urad dal – 1 tsp

Dry red chillies – 3 or 4

Turmeric powder – a pinch

Asafoetida – a pinch

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Curry leaves – 4 or 5

Refined oil – 3 to 4 tbs

Ingredients

Method:

1. Soak the Toor dal and Channa dal in water for 1 hour.

2. Drain and grind the dal coarsely with dry red chillies, salt, and asafoetida .

Dal mixture Fried mixture

3. Steam cook the ground mixture(2-3 whistles in a pressure cooker or keep it in the oven for 6-7 min till there is no moisture in the mixture). Allow it to cool and crumble it using a ladle or your fingers(using the fingers is better)

3. Cook the beans or other vegetables separately and drain out the excess water.

4. Heat oil in a pan and sauté the mustard seeds, urad dal, turmeric powder and curry leaves. Add the crumbled mixture and the cooked beans.

5. Fry the mixture as per your liking(I like it to be fried,crispy and separate granules as this tastes good).

6 thoughts on “Beans Paruppu Usili (lentil crumble)

  1. Finally I have found out how this delicacy is made. I have had it a couple of times at a friend’s place and have always been the one to finish it to the last bit!

    This recipe brings back memories and now that I know how its made I need to get started. Problem is I am already feeling very hungry 🙂

  2. This is a very healthy and tasty dish! Thank you for putting together the recipe. I got my last recipe for the same dish from the International Vegetarian Union but that one was not as precise as yours is!

    Peace 🙂

  3. Hi, My mom makes it the same way but she doesn’t steam it. She puts the ground paste directly to the kadhai. And she doesn’t even use much oil. It does taste heavenly. I guess this is the easier way for us amateurs. you cant go wrong with this. I made it once to impress my hubby with my culinary skills but when he asked whether it was potato podimas, I never tried it again.(it was lumpy) 🙂 am gonna try it tomorrow

  4. This is the recipe which reminds me of my kunju kutti athai (aunti) who was an expert in this.
    If one fries the ground mixture straight, it will be very tasty as it will consume lot of oil. On the other hand steaming and then frying takes less oil and it is very healthy.
    I use coconut oil partly as it adds to the taste

    My aunti makes the same in two portions. One is the ground mixture fried straight with little more oil and the other with lot of vegetables. The first one is to mix with rice and eat with little ghee and the second comes as a side dish. Believe me, it is heavenly

    To make the steamed mixture crumble after cooling, I put it in the mixie and give only one rotation. Do not rotate more.

    I have found the tastiest paruppu usili is with cabbage. Cut it and steam it with the ground mixture or seperately. Sqeeze the water before frying with the ground mixture

    I regularly steam only in idly making vessel.

    Do not throw the water in which you soaked the dal and the water with which you washed the mixie. Make it as a regular rasam with tamarind water etc which will be very tasty too

Leave a Reply

